all my bags are (over)packed, i’m (not really) ready to go

25Jun08
I am absolutely exhausted, so my last-night-in-DC post is going to be rather quick.

My follow up interview this afternoon went really, really well, I think. The job wouldn’t start until at least August 1, meaning I don’t have to worry about my being in Bosnia detracting from my hirability. In addition to the interview, they forwarded me the first 100 pages of a book they’ve just acquired and asked me to write a one-page reader’s report. Honestly, I have no idea when I’m supposed to have time to do that, but I want to leave a good impression so I’m going to some how try to have it read and the report written before I leave for the airport tomorrow.

Speaking of leaving, I’m completely, ridiculously, absurdly overpacked. I can’t close my suitcase, and I haven’t even put my shampoo or hair dryer in yet, not to mention the clothes currently in the dryer. I’m too tired tonight to fix it, so I’ll have to do that tomorrow. I’m going to be really angry if I remove something to save space and then end up really needing it or wanting it while I’m there. I suppose I’ll just have to deal with it.

I expect tomorrow will be really busy, so don’t expect to see me around these parts. I’m leaving DC at 6:00 pm on a flight to Vienna, and then I’ll land in Sarajevo at 2:40 pm local time on June 26. I know I’ll have at least 10 days of consistent internet access, so I’ll be updating as much as I can/is necessary.

If you would like a postcard, please email me your address ASAP at whitney.luken@gmail.com. Goodnight.

One Response to “all my bags are (over)packed, i’m (not really) ready to go”

  1. 1 Mom

    Ah Whitney,

    It sounds like you’ve learned from your sister, the art of over-packing. Just, please be practical…you are not there for a fashion show. I think you could get by on 2 pairs of shoes. Remember to roll your clothes, so they fit better in your suitcase. Boy, I sound like a mom, don’t I? Well, guess what…I am your mom!

    Anyway, I hope you have a safe trip and come home with a better understanding of how it feels to help young people. You should be proud of the fact that you were one of the chosen few to sacrifice your next 3 weeks to help others.

    I am keeping my fingers crossed that you come home to a job offer in Nashville, Tennessee. Wouldn’t that be great?

    Have a great time…I can’t wait to hear about your adventures. Get lots of sleep on your long flight!

    I love you,

    Mom


Leave a Reply

