Back in the USSR (Day 18)

18Jul08
Sunday, July 13, 2008.

Our only free day in Sarajevo and naturally, I sleep in. Ajla and I and a few other people decide we want a non-Bosnian breakfast, so we find a creperie on Marshal Tito Boulevard. Ajla’s chocolate crepe is delicious, but our cheese ones are a little dodgy. The Bosnian affinity for sour cream throws us off a bit, and we opt to save our appetites for gelato later on.

It figures that all the shops are closed on Sundays, so our free day can’t be spent shopping. This works in my favor, as post-plane ticket purchase, my funds are limited.

We cruise through the copper smiths alley, looking at bullet shells and Turkish coffee sets, and some of the most beautiful handmade bronze jewelery you will ever see. We make bartered deals in broken English and befriend a metal artist who sells us his prints for cheap. I buy the more gorgeous bronze earrings for 10 KM and feel like I’m really getting the better end of the bargain.

We hang out at the hookah bar again, this time drinking mint juice, and get asked by some German tourists on a scavenger hunt for directions.

Of all the cities I’ve visited in Europe, I think Sarajevo is my favorite. It’s beautiful to look at from every angle and there is more than enough to see and do. It has wide avenues with no secrets, but also maintains an almost medieval atmosphere with the nooks and crannies of the Bascarsija. It’s cultured and diverse, and big but with a comfortable feel. And there isn’t the sense of an overwhelming crowd, like in Paris or Rome. Maybe it’s because my expectations were so high to begin with, or maybe it’s that this city has so much to its history, but I am completely enamored with Sarajevo. And with Bosnia and Hercegovina in general.

One Response to “Back in the USSR (Day 18)”

  1. 1 Katie

    I hope you bought me something purty!!!


Leave a Reply

