And if your laugh was gold, how long do you think you’d stay livin’?

12Nov08
Though she didn’t tag me, I’m going to take this opportunity to tag myself on My Scottish BFF’s “bookworm meme”.

This is also a perfectly apropos opportunity to announce that I’ve decided to take onegreatcity in a new direction. This blog will now be primarily used to discuss books! I won’t necessarily be reviewing books here, but occassionally I will. I mostly just want this to be an outlet to discuss the book(s) I’m currently reading or books I’ve recently completed. So be on the lookout for the new change!*

*I will occassionally still discuss politics, pop-culture, Bosnia related news blurbs, and really anything else that interests me. But mostly, books!

Onto the meme! The rules:

Pass it on to five other bloggers, and tell them to open the nearest book to page 56. Write out the fifth sentence on that page, and also the next two to five sentences. The CLOSEST BOOK, NOT YOUR FAVORITE, OR MOST INTELLECTUAL!

I do solemnly swear that this is the first book I picked up, and not an attempt to be overly-intellectual on my part. It happens to be the book I’m currently reading and therefore, is resting on my nightstand.

Feynman’s Rainbow: A Search for Beauty in Physics and in Life is the memoir of Leonard Mlodinow, a Caltech Fellow of Physics in the 1980s. It’s mostly the story of his time and conversations with Richard Feynman (of Los Alamos/The Bomb fame [infamy?]) while both were teaching at Caltech and Feynman was battling terminal cancer.

Alas, page fifty-six, fifth (sixth-eleventh) sentence:

In that case the solution is the ingenious thing.

A very good example is Einstein’s theory of relativity and gravity–the general theory of relativity. With relativity it was clear that they had to combine somehow this theory of special relativity, that light travels at a certain speed, c, with the phenomenon of gravitation. You can’t have that–you can’t have the old, Newtonian gravity with infinite speeds, and the relativity theory that limits speeds. So you have to modify the theory of gravity somehow.

Once I got past all the physics mumbo-jumbo, what I’ve read so far has actually been really interesting. I like math and physics in a very abstract way, because math is definite and unchanging and you get tangible results. I like that. I just don’t usually understand anything past algebra, and physics in high school with Mr. Grenier was pretty much a joke.

I’m not tagging anyone, because I wasn’t even tagged. If you feel like doing this (Katie Jo, I’m looking at you!), I’m always interested in what people are reading!

2 Responses to “And if your laugh was gold, how long do you think you’d stay livin’?”

  1. YAY FOR UPDATING THIS AGAIN. Whatever the direction xx

  2. 2 Mom

    Do me a favor – since you are writing in your blog about books, correct your spelling from occassionally to occasionally in your second and third paragraphs.

    Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

