BFAM Day 2: Our Bodies Get Bigger But Our Hearts Get Torn Up

02May09
Now that BFAM is underway, you may be wondering where I’ve been lately. And by lately, I mean the entire month of April. To be honest, I’m not even all that sure where I’ve been.

Aside from scouring the countryside trying to find my menstrual cycle, which due to some possibly exercise-induced hormonal fluke, my body seems to have misplaced by the span of about 24 days (no worries, though, as it showed up a few days ago, and with a vengeance), I haven’t really been doing much. I finished with The West Wing series in early April, and was pretty much devastated to see it end because I’d grown so attached to the characters. But it ended on a high note and I absolutely loved all seven seasons—which is more than I can say for Lost right now. That show seems to be coming perilously close to Jumping the Shark. (And after this week’s episode, my heart just might break next week if Daniel really is dead.)

It’s hard to believe that I haven’t posted a book review in almost two months. But after If I Die in a Combat Zone, I abandoned srs literchure for a bit. When April rolled around, and Spring with it, I found myself in the poetry section of Borders looking for something to bolster my mood. I came away with collections by Edna St. Vincent Millay and ee cummings. I practically devoured the first of these one afternoon on my patio, soaking up sunshine and finally feeling something like contentment after a long winter of rain and cold.

At some point last month, two movie trailers made their way across my screen: Where the Wilds Things Are and Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

I was pretty giddy by the end of Where the Wild Things Are because, like any kid who grew up in the 80s and 90s, that was one of my most favorite books. The film looks to be absolutely phenomenal and I can’t wait to see what Karen O does with the soundtrack.

The trailer for Half-Blood Prince was a whole different story altogether. Rather than be giddy with excitement, I was near to sobbing by the end of its two minutes and 27 seconds. That’s not to say I’m not excited about the film’s July 15 release date, because I am, overwhelmingly so. But until I watched the trailer, I had forgotten just how sad and stunning the Harry Potter series is.

So I went back to the beginning. That’s what I’ve been doing lately. I went back and reread the entire Harry Potter series, finally finishing The Deathly Hallows last night while a thunderstorm rolled through the sky. And even though I’ve read these books a dozen times, I always forget how rich they are, how complex they are, how absolutely wonderfully well-written they are. I forget how brilliant they are, how hilarious they are, and how heartbreakingly sad they are.

I’m thrilled that Half-Blood Prince is releasing in just over two months. It looks to be the darkest and most visually stunning film of the series—and how could it not be? The casting has always blown me away with these films, but I really can’t wait to see Hero Fiennes-Tiffin as Tom Riddle. I only hope that David Yates and co. keep it as close to the book as they can. There are so many secrets and so many details that, in order for the film version of the Deathly Hallows to work, really need to be included in Half-Blood Prince. They let quite a few essential details go missing in Goblet of Fire and Order of the Phoenix.

And remember when I said this? Well, after rereading Harry Potter again, I have to say that Stephanie Meyer is totally eclipsed (zing!) by J.K. Rowling. She is a much, much more accomplished storyteller and her wizarding world is much more thoroughly imagined and envisioned than Meyer’s sparkling vampires.

Well now, there’s two days in a row of blogging. How’s that for a start to BFAM?

One Response to “BFAM Day 2: Our Bodies Get Bigger But Our Hearts Get Torn Up”

  1. 1 Katie

    OMG, I can’t wait to see Where The Wild Things Are!!!!!


Leave a Reply

