if it makes you happy

09Jan10
My trans-Atlantic BFF, Lis, has kicked off the new year with a Happiness 101 meme. Since I have nothing better to write about (and since Nashville’s 2010 live music scene is so far looking very paltry), I figured, why not?

The rules? List 10 things that make you happy, try to do at least one of them today, and link back to the person that tagged you. Then tag 10 other bloggers that brighten your day.

I’m not going to bother tagging anyone, since I think maybe, at most, two active bloggers read my blog. But here goes:

The West Wing
I’ve seen every episode of the series, and I got the full set for Christmas. I’ve been rewatching it for the past couple weeks and I love it just as much this time around. Trying to decide who I have a bigger fictional crush on–Josh, Toby, or Danny–is maddening, but part of the reason the show makes me so happy. The writing is beautiful, the politics are mine, and the passion makes me miss DC and legislative research very badly. I’m sure I’ll get a pleasant email from my dad about this, but quotes like the following are the reason I love Aaron Sorkin:

“Because I am tired of working for candidates who make me think I should be embarrassed to believe what I believe, Sam. I’m tired of getting them elected. You all need some therapy, because somebody came along and said liberal means soft on crime, soft on drugs, soft on communism, soft on defense, and we’re going to tax ya back to the stone age, because people shouldn’t have to go to work if they don’t want to. And instead of saying ‘Well, excuse me, you right-wing, reactionary, xenophobic, homophobic, anti-education, anti-choice, pro-gun, leave it to beaver trip back to the fifties,’ we cowered in the corner. And said ‘Please Don’t Hurt Me’. No more.”

Late Night Texts
Most people get annoyed when their phone beeps in the middle of the night. I can’t help smiling. My phone is loud and my text alert is obnoxious, so no matter what time it is, I’ll always wake up. And only about four people text me on any regular basis, and they’re four of my favorite people in the world. So getting texts from them, even at 6:00 in the morning as I did a couple weeks ago, makes me happy.

Domestic Accomplishment
Today, I cleaned my apartment, did laundry, and finally got the mildew out of my shower. I love the feeling of getting those pesky domestic chores finished because it means I don’t have to do them again for a while.

Music
I know that’s an awfully broad category, but everything about music makes me happy. Today while I cleaned, I listened to Marah for the first time in a very long time and I remembered exactly why I love them. Passion Pit makes me want to dance. The Indie Underground Hour on Lightening 100 tonight made me really enjoy Swedish music, oddly enough. And even though they didn’t have Bonny Billy’s new album in stock, just the fact that Grimey’s is open on a cold night makes me very, very happy.

Hillsboro Village
My favorite neighborhood in Nashville, Hillsboro Village has everything. Jackson’s, Fido, Provence, the Belcourt, Fire Finch, and, most importantly, Bookman/Bookwoman. I could spend everyday walking around 21st Avenue South and not get bored.

Peppermint Tea
I’ve been pretty sick this past week, and it’s been extremely cold, so I’ve been drinking peppermint tea by the gallon. It’s hot and minty and delicious and it clears my sinuses.

Semi-Decent 365s
I’ve been doing a lot of complaining about my 365 day photo project lately. I’ve already done it once before, so this second time around has been really irritating me. Most days, my photos are terrible and boring. But on the days when my camera cooperates, or my hair cooperates, I remember why I wanted to do this project again.

Scrambled Eggs
Actually, any kind of egg. I love breakfast and I really love eggs. Omelets, scrambled eggs, egg sandwiches. If Publix hadn’t been out of eggs during the Great Snowstorm Rush of 2010, I would have been able to eat them for breakfast this morning.

Swimming
I am a swimmer. I have been a swimmer all my life. I started competitively swimming when I was about 5 or 6, and swam all through high school. I try to swim at least 5 or 6 days a week, but since I’ve been sick this week, I haven’t been in the pool for a while. Swimming long course outside in the summer is one of my favorite things to do, but I’ll settle for swimming a mile of short course inside in the winter.

Traveling
I had the privilege of getting to go on an exciting vacation every year as a kid. That’s something that I’ve carried over into adulthood. I love seeing new places, seeing as many places as possible, and going places that maybe not many people go. The aforementioned Lis is getting married this summer, and I can’t wait to go back to Glasgow (yes, Scotland) for the ceremony. I have a three-day weekend next weekend and another one over Presidents’ Day in February, and I’d love to take a quick trip somewhere.

So there you go. Ten things that make me happy. And I did more than one of them today.



4 Responses to “if it makes you happy”

  1. What… working doesn’t make you happy? :)

  2. OH HAI Wing-lovin’ buddy. x

  3. I loved your list, but the Sheryl Crow reference in your title made me happiest of all!


  1. 1 I’ll be the Happy Phantom « Yessaidyes’s Weblog

Leave a comment